Sunday, May 02, 2010

'Mirror' Riddim Review (Goldcup Records)

Italian- based label and production house Goldcup Records have kicked off 2010 with the 'Mirror' Riddim. 'Mirror' is a driving, modern-roots riddim that truly highlights the talent of the production team consisting of Luca Corellas, Marco Evangelista, Mattia Ragni, and Gabriele Rogari. They have created a top quality riddim which has attracted some of  reggae's finest international talent.
Bahamian born and raised Jah Nyne's How Do You Feel is pure magic as he asks hard questions of those that kill without conscience.
Hailing from Trinidad, the vastly underrated Khari Kill rides the riddim flawlessly with the title track Mirror, a lover's ballad as smooth as italian leather. He muses: "When people see us trodding together they're gonna pray for us to fall...The love we have is tight like a nut and a bolt."  A classic reggae simile revisited!
Born of an Italian mother and Nigerian Father, Lion D impresses with his jamaican patois on the uplifting Behold.
Jamaican Singjay extraordinaire Lutan Fyah is in top form on Too Long, a call for his 'perfect soulmate' to return. Lutan pines: "Too long, too long...woman, ya tek wey ya self ...ya keep mashin' up my went away an I've had lonely days...I pray that you will come back my way." Niceness everytime!
Nature refreshes with a superlative flow reminiscent of  fellow Jamaican Wayne Wonder on What Is This.
Ras Ijah of Trinidad and Jamaica's own Bushman are more than solid on One More Load.
Teflon's adept skills are evident on the positive and engaging Good Seeds while Italy's Ras Tewelde showcases his talents on  the faith-inspired Love The Life.
With the 'Mirror' riddim, Goldcup Records has signaled their intent to hang with the heavyweights of modern-roots reggae. Big tings a gwan fe Goldcup!

Track Listing:
1. Jah Nyne- How Do You Feel
2. Khari Kill- Mirror
3. Lion D- Behold
4. Lutan Fyah- Too Long
5. Nature- What Is This
6. Ras Ijah feat. Bushman- One More Load
7. Teflon- Good Seeds
8. Ras Tewelde- Love The Life

NOTE: The initial release consisted of the above tracks. The digital release has 8 additional tracks including tunes from Ray Darwin, Fred Locks, and many more!


Nature - Mirror Riddim