Monday, April 26, 2010

'Classic' Riddim Review

Kemar ‘Flava’ McGregor of No Doubt Records returns with his latest riddim entitled 'Classic'.

'Classic' is a slow-paced, lover’s rock riddim featuring many of the top artists in reggae music. It’s not Flava’s best effort and probably doesn’t quite live up to its name, but it is one those riddims that can nicely complement a lovers rock playlist.

Newcomer Khago supplies a catchy hook and melody on Love Stomach while veterans the likes of Tony Curtis (Golden Eyes), Maxi Priest (Like An Angel), Beres Hammond (No Apology), Singing Melody (Special Love) and Lukie D (Girl I Surrender) all ride the riddim smoothly.

Wayne Wonder (In Your Eyes) sounds rather generic and maybe even a bit uncomfortable on a riddim that you would assume he would be right at home on. Not his best performance.

Duane Stephenson and Ras Shiloh turn in an excellent performance on the conscious effort Soon As We Rise and Etana, Pressure, and Gyptian offer solid efforts on I Know You Love Me, Thinking About You and All I Wish Is Love, respectively.

Overall, Classic is a decent riddim but it won’t necessarily be a memorable one.

Gramps Morgan - Riddim Driven: Classic

Track Listing:

1. No Apology- Beres Hammond
2. I Know You Love Me- Etana
3. Like An Angel- Maxi Priest
4. In Your Eyes- Wayne Wonder
5. Special Love- Singing Melody
6. Soon As We Rise- Duane Stephenson featuring Ras Shiloh
7. Darling It’s You- Gramps Morgan
8. Thinking About You- Pressure
9. Girl I Surrender- Lukie D
10. Love Stomach- Khago
11. Searching- Kashief Lindo
12. Golden Eyes- Tony Curtis
13. Love On The Replay- Nikesha Lindo
14. All I Wish Is Love- Gyptian
15. Which Side Are You On- Fiona
16. Classic Riddim- Kemar ‘Flava’ McGregor


  1. Daddy Matty,

    I am left wondering if you really listened to the Singing Melody and Wayne Wonder songs. Singing Melody's "Special Love" is an excellent song and in my humble opinion among his best work lately.

    Then again, what do I know? I am just a fan who buys great music, loves great singers and truly appreciate talent.

  2. You're right about Singing Melody.(Hence, the adjustment to the review.) The more I listen to the track the more inclined I am to say that it's one of the better songs on the riddim.That being said, I stand behind my comments about the Wayne Wonder tune.Even the best of singers have an off day and he truly is one of the best in reggae music-Daddy Matty

  3. Used to enjoy this so much on metro FM 101.9 Kenya those days back in 2010

  4. Sad they closed the reggae station down but I miss the skilled passionate presenters the likes of John Kago,Fire mama (Njambi koikai),junior dread and Jeff Mwangemi,not to forget DJ Israel and Talia Oyando-the night nurse!

  5. Very good topic, similar texts are I do not know if they are as good as your work out. eventmanagement

  6. Thanks for providing recent updates regarding the concern, I look forward to read more. poker88

  7. This comment has been removed by the author.

  8. By providing reviews and roundups of top-quality instruments and kit, Roaming Sound can help to form it easier for you to settle on items that are right for you.

  9. Thankyou for this wondrous post, I am glad I observed this website on yahoo. buy instagram video views idigic

  10. cheap wow classic gold Welcome to MMORPG Mall - Your one stop shop for everything and anything for your favorite MMORPG game! Here at the mall, we provide you with a central location where you can browse items, compare prices, and make purchases from dozens of the most reputable online sellers in the business.

  11. To sell your house for the maximum price is probably the most important outcome that yourself and every other homeowners wishes for. There are several areas of the house selling process that you can control to help sell your house quicker while achieving the maximum sales price possible. In this article you'll discover what improvements you can make that will increase the saleability of your house to help you not only sell your house faster but they will also assist you to sell your house for the maximum price.