Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Stick Figure 'Burial Ground' Review (Stick Figure Music)

It's been precisely 2 years and 1 day since we reviewed Stick Figure's 'Smoke Stack', a solid roots- reggae album if there ever was one. Scott Woodruff, the man behind the band, manages to produce yet another first class reggae record with his latest work 'Burial Ground'.
Original, bass-heavy, one drop beats are consistent throughout the album, as are the subtle nuances...and sometimes not so subtle nuances....of dub. Stick Figure's digits remain firmly on the pulse of roots reggae/dub music.
Breathe get things started nicely. "Hey, so here we are...beneath the moon...the rising sun and stars. It's a brand new day. It's a brand new greet the world...just me and my guitar."  Just breathe and take it in! Well done. Golden Hour is simply a lovely tune all the way around. Who doesn't enjoy a beautiful sunset at the beach with the soothing sound of waves in the background?! The riddim is sultry and mellow with a well-placed bridge. (A 'bridge' is always a welcome sight when it comes to reggae music!!) Evident also are the excellent harmonies, a common thread throughout the record.
Unlike previous efforts, Woodruff co-wrote 5 of the tunes with close friend T.J. O'Neill. This collaboration definitely paid dividends, including the aforementioned Golden Hour, the thumping return of Coming Home, and the title track Burial Ground. However, the most outstanding of this bardic union has to be Weight of Sound and Women of the Night. The latter features the legendary Half Pint on guest vocals. Sampling Bob Nesta's 'Stiff Necked Fools' is a brilliant move as Half Pint belts his verses like only he can. Most definitely one of the stand outs of the record! Weight of Sound is another stand out of the highest quality. This time T.J. gravitates to "D.J." O'Neill, as his gruff, original 'chat' brings this booming, 7 + minute classic to a to fitting conclusion.
Shelter has a vintage 70s feel that calls to mind the Studio One classic 'Armagideon Time' by Willie Williams. Hard Drugs is a timely tribute to the Cool Ruler while the forward guitar riff on Rocky Road is a clever touch on another stand-out tune, arguably the record's best. Woodruff's choppy delivery at stages is supremely smart and blends seamlessly with the air-tight harmonies! Heartland continues the fine musicianship that is Stick Figure. The man can craft a reggae beat with the best of them! Just Another Dream has a futuristic vibe with heavy roots/dub influences at it's core. Dreamland, dub at it's finest, closes a truly prolific album.
'Burial Ground' is a joy from track 1 to track 14. It's innovative, all the while remaining true to reggae of the purest form. The harmonies take this record above and beyond previous efforts. Play on Stick Figure....Play on!! Highly Recommended!

Burial Ground - Stick Figure 

Track Listing:
1. Breathe
2. Golden Hour
3. Burial Ground
4. Women of the Night featuring Half Pint
5. Hard Drugs
6. Weight of Sound featuring T.J. O'Neill
7. Shelter
8. Rocky Road
9. Heartland
10. Barrels
11. Same Old Story
12. Just Another Dream
13. Coming Home
14. Dreamland


  1. Wow i can say that this is another great article as expected of this blog.Bookmarked this site.. download lagu

  2. Most come from the craftsmen advancing music themselves, so it is an incredible method to locate some genuine melodic fortunes. festsange og taler

  3. You there, this is really good post here. Thanks for taking the time to post such valuable information. Quality content is what always gets the visitors coming. Pop Music

  4. this really is great and also meanful. this really is great website. Relating is quite beneficial factor. you might have actually aided a lot of people which check out website and offer these usefull details. how to chart on itunes

  5. बहुत तेज YouTube से MP3 कन्वर्टर 320 kbps तक और वीडियो डाउनलोडर अपने पसंदीदा म्यूजिक की खोज करें कनवर्टर

  6. To begin with, right snap any tune, collection or playlist in Spotify you wish to advance and by and by select "Duplicate Spotify URI." make your spotify playlist famous

  7. gstar George GStar is an American entrepreneur, rapper, singer-songwriter, and fashion designer. He is known for becoming a self-made millionaire

  8. Very good written article. It will be supportive to anyone who utilizes it, including me. Keep doing what you are doing – can’r wait to read more posts. DJ ravintolaan

  9. On the Internet, data is free. The majority of it, at any rate. Yet, the essential standard of the data expressway is anybody can go on it and have a drive around. Valid, there are numerous sites that let you shop till you drop, yet regardless of whether this is the standard now for web based shopping addicts, music is extraordinary.musicpleer mp3 download

  10. Thanks so much for sharing this awesome info! I am looking forward to see more postsby you! Musica de fondo para videos

  11. Always giving us the best update, thank you for this information. check this site for amazing article.

  12. this really is great and also meaningful . this really is great website. Relating is quite beneficial factor. you might have actually aided a lot of people which check out website and offer these useful details. whatsapp mod

  13. I admire this article for the well-researched content and excellent wording. I got so involved in this material that I couldn’t stop reading. I am impressed with your work and skill. Thank you so much. 안전놀이터 순위

  14. Thank you because you have been willing to share information with us. we will always appreciate all you have done here because I know you are very concerned with our. 메이저놀이터 목록